SA Book Review: Ante Up by Chautona Havig

ante up cover chautona havig

Category: Contemporary Fiction :: Target Audience: Christians

Ante Up,” the final installment in the Aggie’s Inheritance Series is frustratingly real.

I have been an Aggie fan since I read the first book several years ago, and I was ecstatic when I read that author Chautona Havig was going to write a fourth book for the series.

If I’m being completely honest, I would say that this book is not at all what I expected. I wanted to see Aggie and Luke together, overcoming problems, and living in victory over their past difficulties. I know real life isn’t always like that, and I think that was what the author was trying to portray in this book. Although I found this story heavy and depressing, I don’t think that means you shouldn’t read it. It is well written and deals with difficulties that every family faces at one time or another. Aggie’s struggles broke my heart for her and the rest of the family. Sometimes I just wanted to shake her. But that is how life can be.

We all have seasons of joy, and sometimes we indulge ourselves in dangerous seasons of pity and bitterness. God is always there waiting. I will say that I hope we get another book where we get a version of Aggie that is more familiar, but has also grown through her struggles. There are important story lines for the other characters in the family, especially Vannie, Tavish, Kenzie, and Laird. Plus we get a hint as to what is going on with Tina and William, which I found exciting. Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that lives in the real world, where God is constantly making us into vessels for His honor.

I received a free copy of this book so that I could write an accurate review based on my personal opinion.

Happy reading and sincerely adorned,


Aggie’s Inheritance Series – My Favorite Christian Fiction

Aggie's Inheritance Series by Chautona Havig

I don’t normally promote fictional books on this website, but I decided to make an exception for my favorite fiction series, as a fourth book is coming out in several weeks. I adore this series by author Chautona Havig. The main character, Aggie, inherits 8 children after her sister and brother-in-law die in an accident. This faith filled adventure shows that God is constantly with us in our struggles, although He doesn’t always answer our prayers the way we expect Him to. These books have ministered to me in such an intense way. You will laugh, cheer, and cry as Aggie makes progress daily, and the children grieve and realize that their Aunt really does have their best interest at heart. I also love the supporting characters in this book. It definitely takes an army, and Aggie knows and meets plenty of people that are willing to help. Although, some of them cause more complications for Aggie than she can handle. Before the fourth book comes out, I encourage you to catch up on the first three (You can get all three together for Kindle for only $9.97). Here are the links, and descriptions for each.

Ready or Not (Aggie’s Inheritance Book 1)

Fresh out of college, Aggie Milliken thinks she’s prepared for anything life can throw her way. Think again, Aggie!

After the abrupt loss of her sister and brother-in-law, Aggie is stunned to find herself the sole guardian of their eight lively children. If learning basic parenting skills wasn’t complicated enough, she must also battle the children’s half-crazed grandmother, survive a massive remodeling project, and navigate the waters of new friendships-alone.

She has little experience with children and none with housekeeping, and it shows. What she has going for her is grit, a double dose of determination, and the confidence that this is exactly where the Lord wants her to be. With an unlimited P-mail account and enough hymns to keep her spirits bolstered, she tackles one catastrophe after another.

It seems like nothing Aggie does is right, but ready or not, here she comes!

For Keeps (Aggie’s Inheritance Book 2)

Her first six months of “motherhood” included an ant infestation, a major move, house renovation, and lessons in how to be a mom to eight lively children. Now that the house is nearly complete, her children are headed back to school, and she has a few tantrums under her hymn-singing belt, Aggie is certain life will settle down. Poor Aggie… William makes his intentions known, Luke and his mother are always there for her, and between a new kitten, a box full of puppies, and chicken pox, Aggie’s home begins to resemble the local zoo! Her children keep testing the waters, the unrealistic budgets she makes refuse to balance, and she learns that life with children means that nothing stays done and perfect for long. Add Geraldine and her histrionics to the mix and it’s no wonder she’s ready to run away from home. When a surprise letter arrives, everything could turn upside down. Relief is in sight, but can she bring herself to jump to plan B? Has this just been a practice game, or is she playing for keeps? Will her household shrink drastically, or will it expand?

Here We Come (Aggie’s Inheritance Book 3)

In the hubbub of wedding preparations, Christmas celebrations, and a house full of lively children, Aggie is feeling overwhelmed and unappreciated. Add to that two puppies who are growing faster than she can replace chewed shoes and fix dug fences, it seems like things just can’t get any worse. Then, as she should be enjoying the most exciting time of her life, she’s faced with her worst nightmare.

Ante Up (Aggie’s Inheritance Book 4) is coming in just a few short weeks! I can’t wait to read it, and I hope you are just as excited.

Sincerely adorned,